iBeacons+iOS+SmartThings (UK) presence [updated in 2023]

Hi All,

Im looking for some advise for Beacons+iOS+SmartThings (UK) for presence?

I’m an apple or iOS user. I’m looking to add iBeacon for micro location and presence. However, I’m looking at the best and easiest place to start. I’m not a coder or developer. So looking for the simplest solution to integrate an iBeacon to ST.

My no1 scenario would be, ability to detect both me and the wife as we arrive home from work. To set location mode in ST (which is already setup and working in Webcore- currently with key fob sensors yuk).

The second, would be ability to detect we are in the house or inside the outside office. I think the distance here would be a friend with iBeacon technology.

Any advise would be so helpful. Thanks all

1 Like

this FAQ is still valid in Decembe4 2023, particularly if you want to use Ifttt to get smartthings integration, but we did get pretty deep into the details of the Ifttt functions, and it seems to be confusing for people who are using other methods, like sharptools. So I have written a new short iBeacon FAQ which may be easier to follow. If you know you intend to use Ifttt, continue on with this thread. Otherwise try the following first:

FAQ: IBeacon Short FAQ (2024) (US AND UK)

now back to the original thread.

USING IFTTT to bring iBeacon Triggers into smartthings

The simplest way is to find a Beacon receiving app which can send a “webhook“ (HTTP post) and use that as the “if“ in an IFTTT applet. Then you can use smartthings as the “that“ for the Ifttt applet and you’re all set. :sunglasses: most typically you would turn on a virtual presence sensor using this method, but you can also control devices directly if you prefer.

Once you have that, it works like any other presence in smartthings.

None of this will require programming, but the onetime setup can be a little tedious.

IFTTT WEBHOOKS

So let’s start with the end goal: using the free Ifttt webhooks service.