Battery-powered switches and dimmer switches

Hi everyone,

I’m new to all this but coming along. I’m confused about why every wall switch seems to require house power. I don’t seem to be able to buy a wall-mounted switch (as in, I want to Velcro or glue it to the wall, without a box), with the radio powered by a battery, that I can use to control my various lighting scenes and whatnot.

There are plenty of remote controls – handheld sorts of things, or else elaborate multi-switch keypads, but not just a simple “switch” remote or “dimmer” remote that doesn’t tie into house wiring at a switch box. I think maybe I’m just using the wrong vocabulary… it seems like such a thing really should exist.

While I’m at it, why isn’t there an in-wall switch with a battery (maybe even a rechargeable one!), so as to support houses with line-interrupt lighting wiring? Seems like this would be the simplest device to create – and even allow the battery to recharge when the circuit is powered. But I’m not finding it, so again I wonder if I’m just searching wrong.

Thanks for any advice.

g.

1 Like

I think a bunch are coming.

and the phillips hue tap is kind of like that, sans battery. Don’t think it works with ST though.

also

Don’t know if that’s supported though.

1 Like

Cooper Industries makes a line of Zwave “anyplace” switches which are battery operated and require no wiring. No idea if they work with ST, though.

http://www.cooperindustries.com/content/dam/public/wiringdevices/products/documents/brochures/aspire-rf-brochure.pdf

The GE 45631 has been discussed in the community a lot, with many people not being able to get it to work with ST. It functions as a secondary zwave controller, part of the zwave standard that ST has not implemented. (I believe the only secondary controller ST recognizes is the AEON minimote they sell in the shop.) But some people are using it for some purposes, just search on the model number for the discussions.