Basic questions about Smartthings hub, edge and sensors (exporting sensor data for review?)

Hello, I’m quite new to Smartthings and hope someone could help with the following. I have an Aeotec hub (AEOHUBV3EU) and some Aeotec Water Leak Sensors which also measure temperature.

1. When I open the device in ST app, I can access the temperature history by clicking on a small icon. Where is this data stored (app, sensor, hub, cloud) and how long backwards does the data go?

2. How can I download the data to use it in Excel, for example?

3. How can I know if my setup is already using edge or something else (groovy)? The ST app only allows me to see the driver (or handler?) versions of the sensors.

Many thanks in advance.

Welcome!

Data is stored in the cloud for access via the API and mobile apps. I believe the event data goes back 7 days that we can access.

There’s no user facing utility provided by Smatthings to export the data. You’d need to write something (using the API in the language of your choice) to fetch your data and do whatever you want with it.

We’re still in the transition period towards Edge drivers. If you haven’t subscribed to the Edge beta (by installing the drivers yourself) then you’re not using Edge. An Edge driver for a device has a “Driver” option on the mobile app device details 3 bar/hamburger.

You can also check the IDE (while its still available, it will be retired once Edge takes over) to see what driver your device is using. If it says “placeholder”, its using Edge for a Zwave/Zigbee device.

There has been a history endpoint in the API for a long time, though it is not documented in the API reference yet. I am sure it will be soon as it is now used in the CLI, so there is now a user facing utility.