Automation Routines - additional settings with two conditions?

I’m new to ST, tried searching for answers to no availability for one particular thing I’m trying to accomplish.Goal is to have my front door light turn on when someone rings my Ring Pro doorbell, only after sunset.

So I’ve chosen, under Additional Settings, “Button is pushed or held”, my Front Door bell, and added another Additional Settings called “At sunrise or sunset” => SUNSET, and chose 4 hours after sunset for the trigger to occur.

For the condition that I chose, no matter what time of the day, light gets triggered when the doorbell gets pushed. Is this normal behavior it is meant to be that only one “Additional settings” can be chosen?

How are you setting up the automation? SmartLighting?

By choosing, under “Turn on these lights or switches”, outdoor light. Hopefully that’s what you mean.

No. Where are you selecting that?

Just to make sure we’re all on the same page…

One) which smartthings hub do you have? There are a number of different ones at this point and there are some slight variations between them.

Two) which smartthings app are you using? There are several at this point, including SmartThings (Samsung connect), smartthings classic, and a couple of others.

1 Like

Reminds me of the series of books from the 70s. To avoid danger and to go through the evil forest, turn to page 395. To stay and fight, keep reading. :grin:

3 Likes

In addition to what JD said, have you set your location so SmartThings knows your location and time zone?

1 Like

I have a 2nd generation. I’m using SmartThings Classic, running the latest update. And to answer “prjct92eh2/Jimmy”, yes my home location is set, and I’m in the correct time zone.