Authorization and Web Services consuming from C# application

Hi all,

I’m new in the smartthings development, starting this week, but very excited discovering the IoT world :wink:

Based on several examples, i created my first smartthing app to control a small demo lab (switches and presence sensors).

With the defined Web Services methods, for example, i can switch on / off my devices through web browser call (an more actions for additional devices), but only in a logged session scope.

I’m going beyond, developing a C# application, and i want to automate the authentication process to allow the application execute REST API call to that EndPoint Web Services Methods without end-user interaction. Is it possible to avoid the Login Page prompting the user for credentials?
I mean, is it possible that my application stores the user & password, and the ClientID and SecretID to authenticate with the EndPoint using Oauth?

I have found several post related with the OAuth auth process, for example:
_https://gist.github.com/aurman/9813340

Based on this example, a redirect_uri is requiered. is it correct? Can i use a HTTPClient to GET the request and store the “code” and “access_token” to make the authentication in my app scope?

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

I have a C# web app that steps through the oauth process and saves the info so it can be used in subsequent calls. It uses a web page on localhost so the redirection after you authorize the app via smart things works. That page will save off the auth keys into a local file, get information about endpoints, etc. Check out the oauthcontroller module in this repository for an example of how it works: https://github.com/joejarvis64/j64.Envisalink.git.

2 Likes

Yes, the OAuth token can be stored and is the intended use of OAuth.