App out of sync with real life

I’m fairly new to ST, been using it for 3 weeks now, so far it’s been a mixed bag. I’m using the android app and it seems like the state reported in the Things menu is very frequently not correct.

For example, the z-wave deadbolt locks I have installed seemingly never update their ‘locked’ state in the Things menu if someone has manually (physically) locked or unlocked the door. If I restart the app, the state will be correctly displayed, but UGH that is annoying.

I also have SmartPower Outlet with a lamp plugged in that is set to turn on when my Morning mode is enabled. I also have it so that Morning mode is enabled automatically every day at 6:45 am. The light turns on like it should, but the Things menu still says the outlet is off. Again, if I restart the app, it will correctly display the outlet’s state.

Is this normal? Does anyone else run into issues like this? Is there something I can do, other than restarting my app every time I want to use it?

Recently, the SmartThings cloud has mostly been of the PyroCumulus variety, so I would not consider what you have experienced lately as nominal behavior.

But yes, it happens occasionally (even when things are nominal). I don’t know of any workaround that effectively fixes the behavior.

My Schlage door lock’s been working reliably (knock on wood) even during the recent turmoil. I receive notifications of all lock/unlock events and typically they’re very fast - 1-2 second delay worst case (knock on wood again). I do have issues with some of my light switches not reporting correct state if operated manually. That’s been repeatedly blamed on the switches themselves, but I’m positive I didn’t have this issue when I was using Vera.