Anyone maximised solar panel savings by scheduling specific appliances based on real-time generation data?

Hi All,

I am new to SmartThings and am thinking of using it to control various high power loads to only run when my solar panels are generating enough power.

Can’t seem to find an existing similar project. Does anyone know of one? If so can you point me in the right direction.

If not, then I would be happy to work with more experienced people here to make a very powerful system.

Look forward to hearing your throughts.

Thanks,
Rob

Interesting idea, what loads would you turn on? Save your laundry, charge your car, electric water heater. My knee-jerk reaction is the convenience of using those things when you want out way the potential savings… maybe the car?

I don’t know of anyone who’s fully automated it. There are some people who get phone notifications based on their tesla powerwall statistics so they can make decisions about what to run. The specific integration is quite old and I’m not sure it works anymore, but you might check out the following thread:

Also, someone did one a few years ago for fronius, but again it’s probably out of date now:

And there was one for Enphase Envoy, but the author is no longer supporting it:

So these are just some ideas to look at.

One thing to be aware of is that if you are querying a cloud or website, many companies put rate limits on how many times you are allowed to poll that information per day, and that includes information you need for other parts of your system. So that’s something you need to look into as well if there’s a cloud involved. Typically you’ll be limited to about one query every 15 minutes for this kind of purpose, but it does vary from company to company.

Thanks for your reply.

Sorry for the delay. Was expecting to get notification of replies to comments from the system. Need to look at that next.