[OBSOLETE] Anybody use a ZMote (IR Blaster)? (DTH in post 4)

The ZMote founder was semi active on OpenHab, I was wondering if anybody has one or created a DTH for SmartThings. I’m looking for a pure IR blaster. Tried to Logitech Harmony Hub but it just didn’t work for me only being able to use activities. Just want a device I can send pure commands through Core.

http://www.zmote.io/

Can’t comment on the Zmote, but a Broadlink will work.

Unfortunately, I don’t have an Android device running 24/7 to work as a bridge. I’m looking for something that is plug and play (sort of… I understand the need for Custom DTH) with SmartThings.

1 Like

I’m using a zmote and just published my first device handler to use it.
You’ll need to customize it for your own IR devices.

2 Likes

Great! I actually was in contact with one of the developers for zmote but I’ve never built a DTH before. This will be a good basis.

How well does it work? There isn’t a ton of info about the product.

The zmote device works great, especially for automation. The web interface is very functional too after you spend the time to figure out the setup of each device. It would be awesome if the zmote developer could add support and/or documentation on integrating with smartthings.

Writing a device handler for it is a bit strange since there’s not really a concept of a IR blaster like this described in the developer docs. http://docs.smartthings.com/en/latest/capabilities-reference.html
It seems like smartthings is intending that each device is described in the code rather than a general purpose transmitter.

I have email contact with the developer (or one of them), I have to say they’re pretty responsive. They have not looked at SmartThings for integration yet, but at least they’ll look at it.