Alexa works but she thinks she doesn't (November 2017)

I have searched a little and have not found anything on this so I do apologize if there is another topic out there. I am just starting out with ST and only have it integrated with Amazon Echo and Harmony at the moment. Currently, if I tell alexa to “turn on Netflix in Living Room” she will say, “sorry, I am having trouble connecting to smartthings” but then the Harmony activity will trigger and it works perfectly. There is not even but a 1 sec delay if that.

So, my questions are, has anyone else experienced this false response and if so is there a way to fix it?

thanks, Scott

I have. I have no idea what the fix was. Rediscover devices? Restart Harmony? Restart ST Hub? I did them all.

the good thing is the activity works. It’s really just an annoyance thing of Alexa misinforming me. But usually when she can’t connect to ST at all she gives a different response.

I’m having this very issue atm. Commands working but Alexa’s saying she’s having problems. Would be interested if anyone’s found a fix!

This has happened occasionally in the past and seems to be a timeout issue where smartthings is not responding quickly enough. So echo gets the request to turn on the light, passes it over to smartthings, smartthings receives it just fine and does turn on the light, but takes too long getting back to echo to say that the light has been turned on.

The best thing you can do is contact support and let them look at it from their side. I don’t think there’s really anything as an individual that you can do.

https://support.smartthings.com/hc/en-us

2 Likes

For Shi ts and giggles try this just to see what happens. I know it’s working and this may not make sense, but its working and responding with an error makes no sense either.

Disable the SmartThings skill and Re-enable the skill. Then try again and see if the error message still occurs.

1 Like

Just tried that. Still same result. Thanks for the suggestion though.