Advice Needed On A Switch

This is my first switch to replace in my house. The goal is to have my ring doorbell detect motion and trigger the switch to on during nighttime hours.

I am a novice (at best) electrician. I located the breaker for this switch so I am safe in that regard… I have attached a pic of the switch/wiring. From what I see I have no neutral wire…

• Wire #1 goes to the porch lamp via its cable run
  • Wire #2 is tied with he rest of the black wires to the left with the wire nut
  • Wire #3 is tied with the rest of the white wires to the top with a wire nut
  • Ground wire is attached to switch

Am I correct I have no neutral wire? If so, can you recommend a switch (white) that has no dimmer. Thanks.

I know, my technical terms are amazing

1 Like

You didn’t say what model ring doorbell you have (yes, it does make a difference. :wink: Back to the first rule of home automation: “the model number matters.“)

Or what country you’re in, because the device selection does vary somewhat, even between the US and Canada.

Or even if you have a SmartThings hub, which would allow for more switch options. But it’s still possible even in a “hub optional“ configuration.

Finally… I know you said this is a porch light, does it have a replaceable bulb and if so would you be willing to put in one that was dimmable even if you always intended to use it 100% brightness? It’s just that there are some no neutral options which are dimmers, which have to do with the way the radio gets powered from the trickle current. So again, it just opens up some additional device options.

So… I know this seems like a lot of questions, but it does affect the answers. :sunglasses:

As for what your current wiring is, I’ll leave that to the electrical experts. I was a network engineer. I know device specifications, but I leave wiring to the electricians.

Thanks @JDRoberts.

This will be used for:

• SmartThings Hub v3 (US)
  • Ring Video Doorbell 2