A TRUE Smart Home...HAS JARVIS!

For a LONG time now I’ve been trying to make a smart home for as LITTLE money as possible. Unfortunately, that’s VERY hard to do unless you know how to make all the stuff on your own. I’m not a coder or an engineer…but I’ve got an awesome imagination and problem solving skills. Here’s how I’ve made my small two bedroom apartment…SMARTER than all the rest:

What I have:

1. Smart Things Starter Kit (I want to add more, can’t afford it at the moment)
  2. Jarvis (LINKS Mark II at www.ai-dot.net)
  3. Philips Hue Lights (Six lights total, also want more, can’t afford it)
  4. Teamspeak (you’ll understand in a moment)
  5. Eventghost (if you’re on a mac…well…lolwut? sorry)
  6. Sentry (just a windows security app).
  7. IFTTT (www.ifttt.com)

So, the first thing I did was install and configure Jarvis with TONS of questions and answers and tasks to do on voice command. THEN, I installed my own Teamspeak 3 server and client, and (as I demonstrate in this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8otzlMDW5DY) connected Jarvis to it and installed the Teamspeak client on my phone so that I can communicate and get responses from jarvis anywhere, anytime.

Now, with Eventghost and the pushbullet plugin you can do A LOT, because without the pushbullet plugin it’s very hard to communicate from eventghost with IFTTT, which is what I need if I want Jarvis to integrate with IFTTT things.

SO…I say, “Jarvis, lights on.” Jarvis says, “Yes sir, Turning all lights on.” and creates an event in eventghost, which uses pushbullet to send a text to the IFTTT sms number with a hashtag #lightson, which then triggers almost immediately WITHOUT IFTTT’s 15 minute refresh wait-time, my philips hue lights to all turn on, all this within about five seconds or less of my vocal command.

But here’s the cool part!!!