Make a "dumb" fan "smart" using cheapo ESP8266 board controllable via ST (universal IR remote)

Hi guys,

I’ve been working on a project to make my “dumb” fan “smart”, initially I was going to use a RPi but the board is kind of large and not really portable. Then I discovered this ESP8266 board, it’s tiny, cheap, has Wifi built-in and requires no SD cards.

Now my fan is “smart”, it can be controlled from ST, Alexa, ST smartTile dashboard. It’s powered by 2 AA batteries (completely wireless).

I’m not really good at describing so please see for yourself: demo video here, and some photos here

The hardware includes: ESP8266 board, small breadboard, AA batter holder (3v total), and the IR kit

Software includes:

After all those steps, I could already control the fan from a local web endpoint, then I wanted to integrate it with SmartThings. Since this is merely a web endpoint and all I need to figure out is how to send a GET request from ST to this local endpoint. Although I was aware of MQTT (still don’t know how to use it yet), I decided to grab the HTTP Device handler, big thanks to @JZst, and simplified the code because all I need is to send a GET request without any return value.

Now I can control the fan from ST iOS app, Alexa, and SmartTiles dashboard. I also control a TV using the same method… with this universal IR remote, imagine all the possibilities :sunglasses:

Here’s the demo again: demo video here, and some photos here

Let me know if you like it, sorry for long post. :sweat_smile:

EDIT: I take back the wireless feature, completely forgot about web server running on wifi, so 2 AA batteries won’t last more than 2 days. Now I have to hook it up to a power outlet :cry: