20 AMP light switches and outlets (2020 Update in Post 24)

Hi all,
Im new to smart things, so far im really impressed!

What are my options for 20 amp light switches and outlets? currently im using Smart Things light switches (GE 12727) and outlets (GE Z-Wave Wireless Lighting Control Duplex Receptacle), however these will only work on my 15 amp circuits. I do see the Fan switch model: GE 12730 but I’d rather the small looking light switch rather than paddle.

Thanks.

Depending on what your circuit is for. You can swap out the 20AMP circuit breaker to a 15AMP breaker.

Thanks Ray, however the cabling that goes through that circuit is 12 gauge, if I swap out the circuit for 15 amp breaker, wouldn’t I also need to replace all the romex cable with 14 gauge? I was hoping to just use a light switch and outlet that is listed as 20amp.

Guess it depends on your local / regional building codes.

IMHO, you can use 12 gauge wiring if all the outlets are marked 15 amp (i.e., all outlets on the circuit must not have the T cross in one pin).

There are a couple of possibilities.

There’s a 20A wall socket from Enerwave, ZW20R, which should work as an on off control. Just be aware that like most of zwave wall sockets, only one of the two receptacles is radio controlled, the other is just a regular always on receptacle. Unfortunately, it is no longer being manufactured and has become hard to find. And Enerwave has said they intend to put out a new zwave plus version, but had not as of late 2019.

There’s also an Intermatic contractor module which can handle really high loads, but I think it would be overkill unless you’re looking at pool equipment or something like that. It’s also gigantic.

There are two fixture relays which would work for light or wall socket control. They would be wired into the circuit (typically at the light fixture itself). the zwave one is the evolve LFM20 which is on the official “works with smart things” list. it’s pretty popular in the community.