100 Scenes!

I really wish I could put scenes in rooms! With 100 scenes now this is becoming a mess.

i.e. Living Room scenes in the Living Room!

mr.smith

2 Likes

I had no idea you could even have that many. Why so many scenes and how are you using them?

We have 90 devices and I’m adding new ones every day. I’m a lighting designer so all of our standard lightbulbs inside and out are Lifx color. (And more Lifx bulbs on order!) I have GoControl zwave outlets in every garage and outdoor outlet and a few in the house. Most of my dimmers are GE/Jasco and are in every room of the house. There are plug-in switches for fans and an in-wall switch for the whole house fan. There are also two thermostats (upstairs/downstairs). All of this has allowed me to create loads of scenes for any situation. Most scenes have some element of color.

In just the Family Room (all start with an “FR”) we have:

FR Relax (warm, 50%)
FR TV Time (low and blue)
FR 65 Kay (full bright at 6500k)
FR 40 Kay (50%, 4000k)
FR Cool
FR Aquamarine
FR Nightlight
FR Pink and Warm
FR RelaxPlus
FR Nighttime

There are also tons of Scenes that are more for function than visual: Everything OFF, Everything ON, Away At Work, Nighttime, Evening, Daytime, Heaters OFF, Garage Workbench, etc (and loads more for all the colors! - I even have “Red Alert!”)

We have scenes in the Kitchen, Laundry Room, Garage, Back Yard, Front Yard, Living Room, Studio, Master Bedroom, Hobby Room, Guest Room, Dining Room, Breakfast Nook, and Whole House, of course. There is also a “room” for devices not being used. At one point I maxed out the number of rooms you can have in the app!

I REALLY wish scenes could be put into rooms so I can clean up this clutter. You can also see what a Virtual Switch challenge this is with our integration with Alexa (we have NINE of them) and Google Home (we have 5).

I think I’m crazy, yes? LOL

mr.smith

1 Like

Actually I don’t! You just have a very interesting use case for so many scenes.