Virtual Switch to turn on/off Multiple Lights Based on IFTTT Trigger Event?

I’m not sure where to post this (and this is my first post), but I’ve looked everywhere and haven’t found a clear solution to this:

What I am wanting to do is to create a virtual switch that contains multiple physical z-wave light switches. This virtual switch would need to be seen in IFTTT. I would then use IFTTT to trigger this group of lights to turn off when another event handler in IFTTT happens.

I don’t know if this would be a Device, SmartApp, or what. I’m a super novice nubie at this, so I would need pretty clear instructions.

Create a virtual on/off tile using the developer’s IDE and then add the Big Switch SmartApp from the mobile app.

Thank you Nick. I’ve got it now.

1 Like

I’m trying to do something similar, and haven’t gotten it yet. Could you share what you did?

Note: The following assumes you have already setup IFTTT within SmartThings.

Step 1 - Use the SmartThings IDE to add a virtual switch tile.

• In the IDE go to “My Devices
  • Click the “+ New Device” button
  • On the “Create Device” screen, give it a name (e.g. “Master
    Switch”), a device network ID (e.g. “MasterSwitch”), set the Type to
    "On/Off Button Tile" and set the Location to the appropriate
    location from the drop down list, then click the “Create” button.

Step 2 - Allow IFTTT to use the new virtual switch

• In the SmartThings app on your phone, from the Dashboard go to
    "SmartThings Internal" and tap the IFTTT tile.
  • When the IFTTT app opens, open the “Which Switches” option and
    tick the entry against the virtual switch you created in step 1.

Step 3 - Connect your virtual switch to your real switches

• In the SmartThings app on your phone, in the dashboard, scroll all
    the way to the button and press the “+” button.
  • At the top, scroll the horizontal list of options (which starts with
    "Things") across to “More” In the list below, select
    "Convenience"