Url command to dim lights - roomie remote

I am working to integrate smartthings into http://www.roomieremote.com. The goal is to control my lights inside the roomie app. I am about to invest in zwave dimmers and already have phillips hue. Roomie allows to run a URL commands in the background. That is the only way I’ve been able to figure out how to get it to talk to ST. I have managed to get a light to turn on and off using this method. Here is where I struggle:

1. Is there a way to us the ST end pointer to dim the lights instead of (on, off, toggle)
  2. Can I create a virtual switch that I call using the end pointer, and then that virtual switch essentially dims the lights (several dimmers or zigbee light bulbs) I need to the desired levels. Kind of like creating a macro?
  3. Is there a better way to go about this?

I am not very technical compared to some of you, I know just about enough to get me in trouble. Hope you guys can help.

Yes, dimmers implement “Switch Level” capability – see https://graph.api.smartthings.com/ide/doc/capabilities, which provides setLevel(number, number) command.

Can I create a virtual switch that I call using the end pointer, and then that virtual switch essentially dims the lights (several dimmers or zigbee light bulbs) I need to the desired levels. Kind of like creating a macro?

Yes, but it’s more elegant to use “Hello Home” actions, which is SmartThings equivalent of scenes.

Is there a better way to go about this?

See above.

I like the hello home idea - how do I activate it using a url?

There’re many threads on this subject. Search for it. Here’s one for example:

Why two numbers???

I vaguely remember reading somewhere that second arg is an optional ramp rate. Don’t quote me though :slight_smile:

Gotta love the docs!