Training App - Learn how to program

Okay, first, I’m by no means an expert here, but I’ve learned how to do some things by looking at the code of other programs and from help from posters here. I’ve like to give back a little and I’d encourage anyone else to do this as well. What I did with my latest program was to document the heck out of it. I commented on virtually every line in the program to explain what each line does and why. If you have any programs where you’ve done massive documentation to help others, please post them here.

My program is called Nightlight.

Here are some apps I’ve coded. You’re free to take a look at them.

Cheers

Where is the code?

It’s available with the shared apps if you go into the IDE and start a new app you can browse shared apps and find it there.

If you’re never built an app or are unfamiliar with the process, here’s a quick getting started document I wrote:

Just finished my second “Extreme Documentation” effort. It’s called Wireless 3-way. A very simply little program that I’ve found very useful. I have a “dead” switch in my house that did nothing (it was wired up to control lights in an odd place to I re-wired a switch close to that setup a long time ago and this became a dead switch that did nothing.

Recently I installed a on/off switch here where the load isn’t hooked up to anything. The just line and neutral are running to it. The switch turns on and off, but it doesn’t turn anything else on or off. Except, now it does. With this program is binds this switch with a switch by by back door that turns on an outside light. It makes is a wireless three-way. :slight_smile:

Quick question about your Dropcam Motion Capture app @speteor. I’m assuming this requires both a Motion Sensor and a Dropcam. Is there any way to have the Dropcam itself detect motion and take a picture?