Switch: Scheduling more than one on/off per day

Hi All. I have a smart switch (CentraLite Switch) that I’d like to schedule to turn on and off more than once a day (to give a “lived in” appearance). Using the mobile app, for a given light/switch, I only see a way to schedule one On and one Off time.

To achieve what I’d like to do, I’ve tried creating two separate “Switches” each of which I add the same CentraLite Switch Thing to. Then, I set Switch #1 with the first on/off schedule and Switch #2 with the second on/off schedule. A quick test shows that this appears to work. It seemed a little odd doing it this way (it would be easier to schedule each on/off in the same Switch, but I’m still learning the ST model/config), so I wanted to check here to see if this is the right/best way to do what I’d like to do.

Thanks in advance!

I think that should work. For one light l might use hello home actions as they can easily control a light and you can create several of them. This might be impractical if you want to do this for many lights, but for one light to create a lived in look it should work. I would like to see a smart app that cycles through several different lights over the course of a few days so that the house looks lived in while I’m on vacation. That might be my first smart app that I cut my teeth on creating.

Actually the more I think about, your switch option sounds more efficient than my way.

All you are doing is creating shortcuts (small apps) to the real device. You can have as many as you need. So you are doing it the right way.