No "Things start happening" option when creating a Hello, Home action?

Hello all, I am having an issue with the Hello, Home actions. Hopefully I’m not overlooking something simple but its entirely possible (I’m brand new to ST, just received my hub starter kit yesterday). First, some background info:

Phone: iPhone 6+ iOS 8.2
SmartThings app: v1.6.8
SmartThings hub firmware: can’t find, but the app says it’s up to date
As far as I can tell, everything is fully updated.

The issue:
I’m trying to create a new Hello, Home action that only runs when a motion sensor (ST brand, included in my starter kit) senses motion. The motion sensor is paired with the hub and in Things I can see that it is tracking/reporting when motion starts/stops and sensing temperature. It runs perfectly fine in conjunction with SmartApps and 3rd party apps. However, when creating the Hello, Home action, I go to ‘Automatically Perform “Night Light”’ and I don’t see an option for “Things start happening” as countless ST setup guides suggest there should be. See screenshot below:

Interestingly I did notice that when I tried editing an existing Hello, Home actions (ie. “Goodnight!”), I did have the “Things start happening” option. However, being a lover of customization, I deleted the three or four stock actions and tried creating a new one from scratch, which leaves me here.

Has anyone else had this issue? How did you get the option to show up? Otherwise, does anyone have any suggestions for me to try?

Thanks for any help.

Andrew

I’m not sure exactly what’s going on when setting up a new Heelo
Home Action, but there’s a work around.

A completely different way to do it, is to use a lights and switches shortcuts group. You will have to set up a short cuts group even if it only has a single light as a member. Then you will have a lot of options including when there is motion.

The following link explains how to set up a lights and switches shortcut group.