NEW: Aeon Home Energy Monitor v2 Device

I’ve created an extended version of the Aeom HEM ST device that works with the HEM v2.

It also includes complete reporting of kWh, Watts, Amps & Volts, and calculated costs - including high and low since kWh reset. Doesn’t need Polling() (sets each metric to report in reasonable frequency), and you can automate resetting by calling the reset() command.

Enjoy, and feedback is welcome

Here’s a screenshot

16 Likes

so tempting…

20 characters!

Not sure if it is possible. Or even if it is needed. But, is there a way to store the data over a set period and to chart it for easy to glance use?

@theedpope This can easily be logged to xively

1 Like

Question, you stated that you can call the reset() command when you need to reset the meter, I am new with this device, how is that accomplished?

Well, you can either just push the Reset kWh button/tile, or write an applet that calls .reset() on a schedule (I use a modified version of Pollster that resets a list of power monitor devices at midnight every day).

Thank you. Did not realize the KWH button was also a tile that would issue the reset command. Guess I should have looked a bit more closely over the code :smile:

Hello there, and thank you so much for developing such a nice app!

I have a quick question: is it normal for one of the power readings to show negative wattage? My powerOne shows negative, while the other shows positive wattage. The total wattage then is the some of two.

Thanks,
Dan

You may need to flip your power sensor - some models of the Aeon HEM have little arrows on the sensors and the instructions note one needs to point Up and the other Down…not sure if it makes a difference which is which.

Thanks for the tip Barry. It was indeed a that one of the probe was pointing wrongly. Initially the screen didn’t refresh though and was still showing negative power on one of the probes. I fixed that by reseting the kWh in the application.