Mode changes with nest support

Hello All,

I am new to smartthings and will be asking plenty of questions soon. I am diving in head first and trying to learn as much as i can. I have been using the smartapps documentation to try to learn as much as i can, but they dont really go down to the basics as much as a newbie like me requires.

Anyway, that is beside the point. Currently I have the smartthings hub and a nest thermostat. I realize that they are not really working together, i just havent gotten any devices to connect with the hub yet. I have created 2 locations in my smartthings account 1) Home 2) Work. I have activated geofences around both of those and have set up mine and my fiance’s phones as presenceSensor. My questions comes up here, when i leave the house if i set my home location to “away” or any other mode, I can have smartthings set my Nest to “away” also so the AC wont run any more (if i can figure out how to program a smartapp to change the presence status of a thermostat).

I would like to set the Nest to “home” when i leave work (working on an app that will set presence on nest to “home” when I leave the “work” geofence after a set time of day during the week). The one way i have thought of to do this so far is to install the nest device in both home and work locations and to install the smart app i am slowly working on at work.

The way I would prefer to do it is to trigger a mode change at home when i leave work. I am not sure if this is possible or not. Is there a way that i can subscribe to presence at a different location?

1 Like

Right now there isn’t a way to subscribe to events at other locations. It’s a good idea though.

Your idea of adding the Nest to both devices is a good one. I hadn’t thought of that approach. The code to change the thermostat to away has been done a couple of different ways.

Change based on mode

2 Likes

can’t you do something like is shown in this video released by ST? http://youtu.be/ztipde2oR_E