Is SmartThings what I'm looking for?

Hi,

I started playing with home automation after buying Hue light bulbs and realizing that wife and daughter wouldn’t use them without physical switches.

Since there were none at the time, I used an Arduino with ethernet shield, a 433 MHz receiver and cheap code learning garage door remotes to turn lights on/off and adjust intensity and color.

I also had a Raspberry Pi and IP cameras laying around, so I also bought some 433 MHz door sensors to trigger a Python script built with Flask to record 30 seconds of video from either the front or back door when they are opened.

The script also sends a notification with Pushover and uploads the video to Google Drive, so it’s good to know when my daughter arrives from school or the cleaning lady arrives and leaves.

I was working lately on presence recognition, by using another Python script to query my router association list for our cell phones connections. Wanted to use that to trigger IP cameras motion sensor recording on when nobody is home.

By the time I also wanted to add a dashboard to monitor and control everything and was adapting Dashing inspired by the work of FloarianZ, but I thought that it would be even better if I could use an already established platform that already had that and could also connect to other devices and which could be extended to use my own creations.

Is SmartThings the solution I’m looking for? Will a DIY kind of person feel constrained by it’s limitations?

Thanks for your opinions.
Gilson

Let me preface this by saying that I am not a DIYer to the extent that you are. I have never used an Arduino or Raspberry PI, and I don’t code for a living or on a regular basis (I can understand and modify basic Java/VBA and now a bit of Groovy).