I don't understand the SmartThings/SmartApps ecosystem -- thoughts and feedback after several weeks

I’ve had SmartThings for a few weeks now (my devices consist of the hub, a motion sensor, a couple garage sensors, and a half dozen switches so far). I get the basics – I can get the devices connected, I can flip them on and off from my phone, I have lights triggering from the motion sensor, etc.

What I’m really struggling with – what I thought I would get comfortable with but I’m not – is the way the SmartApps framework (generally) works and the philosophy behind how the whole ecosystem is organized. After several weeks, I still find myself often confused when trying to setup simple things. And I hate it when people say stuff like this, but I’ll say it anyway and risk sounding like a pompous ass: I’m a software engineer/architect and I’ve worked on some reasonably complicated stuff, so it’s unusual for me to not grasp a system like this and just kind of “get” it. Thus I feel like I’m missing something important about the vision or the philosophy of how SmartThings is built/organized/operated.

So I’m going to dive in and if anyone feels up to it, tell me what you think.

== (This wound up being a lot longer than I expected. But hopefully some good discussion will come.) ==