Foscam - Foscam FI8910W Pan & Tilt IP/Network Camera with Two-Way Audio and Night Vision

Hey everyone I’m very new with smarthings (NOVICE) I’m planning to buy this camera, will work with Smarthings HUB?

No live streaming with any ip camera yet. You can read this thread Foscam Universal Internal Device Type (HD\Non-HD with Alarm\LED\PTZ Control)

i have one set to take pictures when my front door opens. I don’t send it any other commands through smartthings and i still use ipcamviewer for checking out the streams.I have 2 of those cams, one 8905w outside and a 9804w all working using some of the different foscam device scripts.

You can also check out the actiON V4 thread, there is a lot of talk about integrating varios cameras into @625alex 's awesome dashboard.

I have one of these and two exterior Foscam cameras. The 8910W is decent although the resolution is better on the newer models, and as some have said there’s no real integration with ST other than custom device types or using Alex’s dashboard.

I bit the bullet and configured the cameras independently of my ST setup. I use iSpy to save all recordings to a local folder which is mirrored with OneDrive, so all the footage end up on the cloud as it’s recorded. I haven’t been able to find anything else that can replicate the same setup reliably.

Another thing to remember about this particular model is that it’s for indoor use only. The casing is not suitable for outdoor use, and the reflection of the IR lights will blind it if you use it inside to look outdoors (pointing at a window, for example). You can turn off the IR altogether but then you’d need the area to be really well lit for the camera to capture anything.

1 Like