Android Widget

I’ve been using SmartThings for a few months now. I think that many users would agree that one of the critical components of any Home Automation System is “spousal usability.” To that end, I have had fairly good success with my wife adopting our SmartThings setup. Of course, it doesn’t hurt that we can turn on or off anything at the switch and override the automation to “go analog.”

One area that really frustrates her is the fact that you have to open the app, navigate to Hello, Home and then issue a command from there (because she finds the Hello, Home scenes much easier to use than either the Things interface or the Dashboard). It would be awesome to have either a series of widgets which could either run like the Things Tiles or Hello, Home commands.

The whole system wouldn’t seem “hidden” within an app if you could simply unlock your phone, mash your finger on a widget and get an instant response from SmartThings.

I know that the Android App takes a back seat to the iOS one and iOS simply doesn’t do widgets, but for those of us who have not gone the way of the iPhone, this would be a significant UI improvement!

2 Likes

We’ve got Widgets on the backlog but it is more complex than it appears. One way to alleviate that someone is to get one of the remotes with buttons on it. We just got the Aeon Labs Minimote and it is awesome for the WAF (Wife Acceptance Factor). That particular device has 4 buttons but because you can long press as well as single press you can actually have it do/control 8 things. We have ours set to a few Hello, Home phrases, outside lights, Sonos, and even a Siren for “panic mode”.