2D/3D Dashboard

Hi guys!
This is really a follow up from @625alex 's awesome web dashboard. ActiON
You’ll notice that it’s vaguely based on Alex’s, but I added the main feature I’ve always wanted: a 2D/3D layout.
I’m an Architect so you’ll understand my necessity to visualise the space in this way, and how easy some tasks would be, like taping on a specific lamp icon to turn on or dimming it.

These are just mockups and far from even being a prototype but I’m consulting the community to try to find options that would make feasible this idea.
I have no knowlage in groovy but some in javascript. Therefore three.js would be the best solution. If you’re not familiar with it have a look at this.

Another options would be using CommandFusion’s neat GUI designer software. It looks very flexible and with many possibilities but I’m not sure if anybody have used it to control ST before.

So…any ideas, thoughts, takers?

16 Likes

I have been looking at doing some sort of floor plan layout on my dashboard site https://thinglayer.net

That is a really cool looking mockup, not sure how easy it would be to implement. It would definitely have to be hosted on on an external server as this far beyond the scope of what a smart app is supposed to do.

1 Like

Me like!
yada, yada, yada…

1 Like

Now that’s a killer dashboard.

1 Like

Going to check out your dashboard :smile:

Will be following this for sure, I would love to have something similar. Alex did an awesome job on his dashboard and I can’t wait for grouping but if this became possible I am in.

2 Likes

The hard part would be making it workable for everyones layout. You could do a live mockup right now using Home Automation Dashboard I would give it a try but I have no skills in graphics.

1 Like

I think if you made it so that anyone could just upload a .JPG image of their layout, it could simplify things. This wouldn’t probably lend itself well to the 3D side, but it could work well for a 2D layout.

1 Like